Auckland reclaims middleweight title

Middleweight tourney team

Middleweight tourney team

Auckland has reclaimed its northern region middleweight title after last weekend’s (September 14-15, 2013) annual tournament at the College Rifles club.

Two Barbarians cups were presented last weekend – the first to the national schools winner (Hamilton BHS) and the second the following day to the Auckland Under 85kg rep side, whose 3-1 tournament record was enough to clinch the silverware after dropping its opening match 8-3 to eventual runners-up North Harbour.

Tournament organiser Deano Allnutt says the 2013 tournament was very successful with a lot of young players shining, though the age spread was 18 to 53. Gary Good from the Waikato Cavaliers was the oldest (53) but youngest at heart. He received a special award for services to U85kg rugby – a true legend and a great ambassador to the fast and furious grade.

The tournament was a great spectacle for all the supporters and the games were play at pace, as befitting middleweight rugby. Organisers Allnutt and Cliff Lyon were assisted by Scott Lacey, while Roger ‘Mad Dog’ Moore was also on hand. Doctor Tom Marks of the Waikato Cavaliers did a top job stitching up the walking wounded.

There are plans afoot to have the next tournament in the Taupo region, which will make it easier for the Wellington Centurions team to meet halfway.

A tournament team of 22 was selected and they were photographed in full Barbarians strip (as pictured).

The tournament team is:
Antony Hamilton (North Harbour), Jeremy Chou-Lee (North Harbour), Peter Stirrat (North Harbour), Texas Ngarongo-Porima (North Harbour), Adam Hallet (Thames Valley), Nikora Royal (North Harbour), Matiu Welch (Wellington Centurions), Andrew Little (Auckland), Tony Natoli (Wellington Centurions), Arran Tawhara (Waikato Cavaliers), Nick Kavanagh (Wellington Centurions), Steven Trelevan (Auckland), Michael Gregson (Auckland), Bobby Taivoni (Auckland), Glenn Tucker (North Harbour), Rawiri Brightwell (North Harbour), Ryan Lee (Auckland), Tom Krippenberg (Auckland), Brendan Lambert (Auckland), Josh DeRuyter (Waikato Cavaliers), Nano Perez (Wellington Centurions), Glenn Strange (Thames Valley). The selection convenor is Bryan Craies, and Deano Allnutt is the manager.

Results: day one
North Harbour 8-3 Auckland
Wellington Centurions 16-0 Waikato Cavaliers
North Harbour 12-7 Thames Valley
Auckland 25-7 Wellington Centurions
Thames Valley 3-0 Waikato Cavaliers

Results: day two
Auckland 31-7 Waikato Cavaliers
Thames Valley 13-7 Wellington Centurions
Wellington Centurions 22-10 North Harbour
Auckland 10-3 Thames Valley
North Harbour 31-5 Waikato Cavaliers

Final placings
1. Auckland – 15 points
2. North Harbour – 13 points
3= Wellington – 10 points
3= Thames Valley – 10 points
5. Waikato – 1 point